Making Sweet Haitian Harmony

For those of you who have been living in a hole lately, the remake of Michael Jackson and Lionel Ritchie’s relief anthem, “We Are the World,” aired this past Friday during the opening ceremonies of the 2010 Winter Olympics in Vancouver.    The song, now available on iTunes, reached the No. 2 spot on Billboard’s Top 100 today behind Ke$ha’s “Tik Tok,” –-another great song on a more shallow level.  Artists ranging from little girly-boy Justin Bieber (my guilty pleasure, admittedly) to Celine Dion and Kanye West (who apparently isn’t as “heartless” as we thought) joined in unity.   Quite the motley crew, I must say.  Well, who cares?  Rock on superstars…you are wonderful!!

Whether these artists collaborated out of the goodness of their hearts or for PR brownie points, it’s still an awesome way to get America involved with a country that will be hurting for a long, long time.   I don’t think I’m alone when I say that helping Haiti is a cause I feel passionately about.  So, props people.  Way to be role models for America (yes, even you Lil’ Wayne).  My favorite part of the song was the rap chorus, of course.  SO precious.  You might have caught on by now…I’m a sucker for black rappers and basketball players –don’t ask me why.

Speaking of rappers, I thought it was pretty distasteful of Jay-Z to bash the song.  According to Entertainment Weekly, he said, “I think ‘We Are the World’ is like ‘Thriller’ to me.  I don’t ever wanna see it touched.”  C’mon yo.  Pick another song to ‘dis.  There are pleeenty.   Although Jay-Z has done his part by contributing to the Hope for Haiti Now telethon, any publicist would agree that Haiti is still too sensitive a subject to criticize any related relief effort.  My suggestions?  Next time keep those opinions to yourself.

Regardless, all things considered…I’d say that this was a successful video campaign–great publicity for a great cause.  Keep up the good work celebs!  You ARE making a positive difference for once. Keep rockin’.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

